The History of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc


 Zeta Phi Beta, Sorority, Incorporated was founded on January 16, 1920, on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. by Five Extraordinary Women known as the Five Pearls. The Five Pearls of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Incorporated are: 

Arizona Cleaver Stemons    

Viola Tyler Goings

Myrtle Tyler Faithful

Fannie Pettie Watts

Pearl Anna Neal                                                                                                                                                      





Our Five Pearls departed from the traditional roles for Black Women and sought to establish a new organization predicated on the precepts of Scholarship, Service, Sisterly Love and Finer Womanhood. It was the ideal of the Founders that the Sorority would reach college women in all parts of the country who were sorority minded and desired to follow the founding principles of the organization.

Founder Viola Tyler was often quoted to say "[In the ideal collegiate situation] there is a Zeta in a girl regardless of race, creed, or color, who has high standards and principles, a good scholarly average and an active interest in all things that she undertakes to accomplish."


       Our Colors:  Royal Blue and Pure White

     Our Symbol: White Dove


Home Page